Spring

Okay, I’ve changed my mind. I  re-posted something I wrote last year for this week’s post, and then I looked out the window at the grey and brown and white that has been here for quite a while and I saw a flash of yellow at the feeder. A goldfinch, just starting to turn! We may not think spring is coming, but the birds know it is. The goldfinches are beginning to turn that  amazing shade of yellow, and bird songs are different now–more sing-song, more carefree, less terse.

If I stop and just listen for a moment, I think I can even hear the icy grip of winter loosening.  In the brook that has more laughter, in the ground that has a hint of cushion, in the minutely beginning swelling of buds.

It makes my insides swell with nourishment, to see it and hear it.

American_goldfinch_winter_f

6 thoughts on “Spring

  1. Oh Deb!!! How marvellous!!! yeah!!! very hopeful… Thank you!!!

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

