The Waiting is the Hardest Part

This morning I woke up to an insistent bird song, over and over, clear and repeated. In my subconscious brain I said “oriole” but when my conscious brain took over, something wasn’t quite right for an oriole. Eventually the call came in the tree right outside. That was enough to make me get out of bed and crouch by the window. The bird was right there, but leaves obscured him and I only got a glimpse of his head, beak open in song. But because the light was behind him, his head was in silhouette and I couldn’t identify him.

I was awake now, so I got dressed and went to the pond grate to clean it out—it was heavily blocked from the night’s beaver activity—pulling the pond muck into the wheelbarrow to use as mulch for my garden. As I was mucking, the darn birdcall came again. And once again, I could only see a silhouette against a far tree. I finished the mucking and went inside to get the binoculars. I stood outside in the middle of the yard. But of course, there was no birdcall. I swatted at mosquitoes. Nothing. I went inside to have coffee.

Then, sitting at my computer, sipping coffee, a clear, LOUD birdcall came through my open window. I jumped up. There, not ten feet from me, was a brilliant orange and black bird. Baltimore Oriole. Showing himself off. Tired of the game, maybe. Or maybe taking pity on me.

I’ve been sending out query letters all this week and as much as I want an instant response, it hasn’t happened. But Mr. Baltimore Oriole reminded me that sometimes if you can just wait, what you want will come to you.

IMG_1737

8 thoughts on “The Waiting is the Hardest Part

  1. Thank you–and good luck on your referrals. I don’t know anyone there, otherwise I would whole-heartedly recommend you.

  2. I love this illustration of how if we pay attention to our surroundings, there is so much to learn. And for what it’s worth, yesterday I commented to my husband that it has been a week or more since I’ve seen or heard the oriole. Must be busy tending to babies, or something. First thing this morning, while I’m preparing the coffee, a gorgeous flash of orange and black at the nectar feeder.

  3. How cool is that? This oriole has been singing away in a tree that last year had an oriole’s nest in it. And now I wonder if he’s a late arrival, looking for a new mate. I hope he’s just staking out his territory and has a mate, because I would rather his song is triumphant, not plaintive. And this morning, I saw a scarlet tanager (and of course I didn’t have my binoculars with me, so it was a blur of brilliant red.)

  4. A scarlet tanager! I think I’ve only ever seen one in my bird watching career… and like yours, he was a blur. I too hope your oriole is trumpeting the arrival of newly hatched chicks.

Leave a Reply

